Venue Problem

I’ve returned our wedding contract to Brandon.  Our dedicated wedding planner, Joy,  contacted me to introduce herself.  She also mentioned that the Woodland Suite is for minimum 100 guests and she will swap us to the Brandon Suite……

……..  

Erm…. we’ve never been shown the Brandon suite as a reception room.  What a shock!  I didn’t handle it well at all.  I hate it when things don’t go to plan, especially when it’s an oversight by a professional.  I freaked out and sent Joy about five emails detailing how shocked and disapointed I am.  Telling her that we had always had our current estimated guest numbers and had only ever been shown the Woodland suite.  I snapped at Alex because I could hear him laughing with work colleagues, which I took as not being bothered (which I felt/still feel bad about). 

Joy sent me an email suggesting that we visit her. We have options available,  the Brandon Suite and the restaurant (which is actually a beautiful room).  Joy has reserved all rooms for our date until we’ve met. 

Now I’ve calmed down, I’m not actually too worried.  I love Brandon for the feel of the venue.  No other venue came close.  We have options to consider. One of which is really lovely.  Plus! The most important point.  It’s a lovely venue but what will make it special is the wedding itself.  A good wedding is about the ceremony itself and the company. 

We are due to visit Brandon in the new year.  Date to be arranged. We originally planned to visit 21/12/10, the snow was so bad we had trouble getting out of our drive! 

What have I learnt?  That I need to take a breath and think through the situation before I react (good plan for life in general).  Also,  Alex and I are here to support one another.  He only acts in my best interests so cut him some slack.  Finally, to keep in mind what I want from my wedding day: Alex to turn up and say I do, our guests to be well fed and to share in our happiness.

About smithtobe

On 24th September my boyfriend Alex proposed to me. Now I'm a fiance and starting to plan a wedding.
This entry was posted in Brandon Hall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Venue Problem

  1. Alex says:

    I’ll be there 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

