One more bridesmaid and the great venue hunt!

Good news!!! I have one more bridesmaid. I was fretting about budget etc and went against my instinct and asked just two of the girls I had in mind.  It didn’t quite sit right, when I asked her and she accepted, everything felt complete.

Wedding party complete.  Now begins the great venue hunt.  A combination of joining a few wedding websites, plus signing up to nearly everything at the National Wedding Show, I’ve a huge collection of brochures and ebrochures.

The agreed requirements for the venue:

1)  Able to hold a civil service

2)  Have accommodation for me.    & H2B,  my Mum & Dad plus the.    in-laws.

3)  Reasonable accommodation nearby for our guests.

4)  A nice garden/grounds. Preferably with a terrace area for drinks outside (optimistic weather wish)

5)  No too big!  You lose all atmosphere with a half empty room.

Armed with the criteria and a wonderful spreadsheet that allows us to price up the venues, I’ve whittled the numbers down to 8 prospective venues. 

We’ve taken a look at two already.  The first one was a beautiful building (hotel), but was on a main road with little to no grounds.  That was a disappointment. And also a lesson that the brochures can be misleading.

We need to make appointments for about six more venues.  I’m always on the lookout for more.  Now I try not to form too stronger opinion until we’ve actually seen the place.

About smithtobe

On 24th September my boyfriend Alex proposed to me. Now I'm a fiance and starting to plan a wedding.
This entry was posted in Bridesmaids, Venue Hunt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

