Engagement Drinks

Last night we went for a meal with both sets of parents.  We went to the Peacock Inn as it’s usually a great place for an informal yet tasty meal.   Unfortunately it was quiz night, it was so loud that it killed conversation.  I must admit that it really irritated me, every question felt like my temper was being pushed to the limit.

Usually things like that don’t bother me.  I may have experienced my first “Bridezilla”  moment.  The day before the meal I’d been looking at wedding venues on the internet.  There appeared to be two camps, the unimpressive conference style venues and the picturesque £100 per head venues.  I don’t have specific requirements for a venue. Nothing grand, just somewhere pretty with a nice garden or outdoor area.  It did get me down a little.  I didn’t do a good job of hiding my worry. Alex seemed concerned that something was up.   I think that the problems with the meal was the outlet for my “everything sucks” worries. 

I was panicked because people talk about booking a venue years in advance.  Coupled with the fact that I know nothing about this whole wedding lark.  The reality, we’ve been engaged for less than one week.  Also, we are aiming for summer 2012, but it’s not set in stone. 

This morning, three brochures arrived.  Three venues that look beautiful. Three venues that are well within our budget. Easy going, rational me is back!  Right now I’m having fun planning our engagement drinks! 

And breathe! 

About smithtobe

On 24th September my boyfriend Alex proposed to me. Now I'm a fiance and starting to plan a wedding.
This entry was posted in Engagement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

