What happened between 24th September 2010 and now

Let’s start at the beginning. On 24th September 2010, my boyfriend Alex proposed. We went for a weekend away in Warwickshire, stopping in a hotel called Wroxall Abbey Estate.

Wroxall is very special to us as it’s where we stayed on our first weekend away as a couple (which was well over a year ago). We booked a beautiful loft suite (number 87). We planned to spend an afternoon using the spa facilities and the evening in the restaurant and bar.

Once we’d checked into the hotel and been up to the room, Alex suggested a drink and a walk around the grounds. We grabbed two glasses of red and strolled around the sunken garden. Alex had brought our new HD camera. Under the premises of getting a shot of us both in front of the house, he lead me towards the centre of the garden. That’s where he dropped to one knee and asked me to marry him. Surprised doesn’t come close to how I felt. Now I thought that I accepted immediately. In reality, there was 16 seconds of my hand in front of my mouth, “oh my God” and tears of joy. Needless to say, he made 24/09/10 the happiest day of my life so far.

The bar staff, who had been watching the proposal through the window, brought us two glasses of champagne. We hid in a love seat in the gardens until I’d composed myself.

The spa was never visited. We spent a few hours calling loved ones and breaking the wonderful news. I discovered that my parents already knew as Alex had asked my father’s permission. I’m still impressed that my Mum managed not to let on. Later on we got spruced up and had a delightful meal at the hotel restaurant. The meal was followed by a few drinks in the bar.

Back in our room, we had a relaxing bath (and boy was it needed). It was half ten when I fell asleep, exhausted from the excitement of the day. Alex indulged in a few glasses of Port. One of my favorite memories of the day was seeing him so delightfully giddy (and a little tipsy).

The morning after, after breakfast, we visited Anne Hathaway’s cottage. Then we headded to Webbs to buy ourselves a figurine to add to our Water Lilly collection. It shows a man proposing, it’s name is “Destiny”.

Then onwards to visit my parents. After that, home to Skype the in-laws. Then more rest as we were both shattered.

From then on we’ve been letting our colleagues know, updating Facebook statuses and looking at the copy of Brides magazine that Alex bought me (which I must say is a remarkably good read). We’re booked into The National Wedding Show along with both sets of parents. Tonight we’re going for a meal with the parents. No doubt it will be a total wedding-fest. Really looking forward to it.

So far, I’ve decided who I’d like to be bridesmaids (not something I has to put much thought into). I’ll be asking them in person next week. I’m slightly nervous, I hope they all say yes. I’ve also seen a style of dress that I love, and a fabric that I adore. I’ve signed up to Tying the Knot Midlands. We’re enjoying looking at venues.

Concentrating on anything but the fact we’ll be planning a wedding is difficult. Every now and then it hits me that Alex and I will be married. It still gives me butterflies. I just couldn’t be happier.

About smithtobe

On 24th September my boyfriend Alex proposed to me. Now I'm a fiance and starting to plan a wedding.
This entry was posted in Engagement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

